The Tomb House and South East View of St. George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle

  • About the artist
    Frederick Nash was born in Lambeth; the son of a builder. He studied architectural drawing under Thomas Malton jnr, before entering the Royal Academy Schools. Nash was employed by architects and drew plates for John Britton’s ‘Architectural Antiquities’ (1807) and Britton and E. W. Brayley’s ‘The Beauties of England and Wales’ (1801-09). From 1807 he worked as architectural draughtsman and lithographer to the Society of Antiquaries. In 1810, he became a member of Society of Painters in Watercolours. He also painted in oils. Nash made sketching trips to Calais, Caen, the Lake District, the Moselle and the Rhine. In 1834 he moved to Brighton. He turned to landscape painting, particularly views of Sussex, before his death in Brighton, aged 73.
  • Explore
  • Details
    Title
    The Tomb House and South East View of St. George’s Chapel, Windsor Castle
    Date
    published 12 July 1804
    Medium
    Colour aquatint
    Dimensions
    height: 38.00 cm, width: 47.00 cm
    Acquisition
    Purchased from F B Daniell, March 1956
    GAC number
    3427